Thank You Thank You

Hi there!

I’m not sure how many of you are Canadian, but I sure am and today is Thanksgiving! I just wanted to make a quick post and list some things that I am thankful for. I find the world we live in is often consumed by wants and needs, yet it forgets to be grateful. I do not want to diminish the fact that so many people in the world have real needs that are not being met. It is very true that I live in a part of the world where very few of my needs are not being met and more should be done for those who go without. However, I wanted to post this thanksgiving list not just because of the holiday, but also because so few people in the world give thanks for what they do have. (I certainly am guilty of not giving thanks when life really isn’t that bad). I believe that there is something to be said for seeing what you have in a positive light, even if it isn’t that much in comparison to some Hollywood star. When we look at things positively it is much easier to feel empowered to make change and to have better health. So without further adieu, here is the list:

  1. My Faith

My faith helps keep me grounded and gives me strength when I feel like I cannot carry on.

2. My Family

Although its just me and my hubby, I am grateful for our marriage and for starting our little family. I am also thankful for my biological family and for my in-laws.

3. Friends

A good friend is worth so much. I’m blessed to have a few that are very supportive and fun to hang out with.

4. Home

I love Canada. It is beautiful, safe, and full of opportunity. I am also thankful for a roof over my head.

5. Employment

I am so lucky to have a job when so many do not. I’m extra lucky that my co-workers are pretty awesome too!

6. Education

I am so lucky to be educated when so many women are not allowed to learn anything in various countries.

7.Tea

Perhaps it is minor in comparison so far, but I sure appreciate a good cup of tea!

This is just a very short list of things I am thankful for. I’m sure I could spend all night coming up with various things I am grateful for. I hope this will inspire you to remember the good you have in your life even if you are in a darker season right now. I encourage you to make a list too (even if it isn’t Thanksgiving where you live)!

What is something you are thankful for?

-Katie

Leave a Reply

