The Agenda

The agenda. Let’s talk about planning. Using an agenda is seriously the only way my life gets organized. I can guess that many of you are in the same boat as I am: working, going to class, in a relationship, spending time with friends, etc. I organize it all in this niffy little book.

Agenda Cover

In reality, this book isn’t so little.

Weekly Spread

But its really helpful to me. As you might be able to tell, I made this agenda to specifically suit my needs. I’m not 100% happy with how it turned out, but it does get the job done. As a student, I constantly have a billion things I need to get done. I find that agendas that are sold in stores usually do not have enough space for me. This is why I created HUGE columns for me to write in. I also found that there were times that I had things to do, but didn’t have a specific day they needed to be done by. To remedy this, I created a “goals” section! Lastly, I added an extra empty box to write a memory verse or prayer. While there is so much going on, I find it is helpful to stay focused when there is something to ground me in my faith.

Now we can get into the nitty gritty. On Sunday or Monday, I typically sit down and think of what classes, appointments, or work shifts I have to attend. Next, I write these events in a bright colour such as red and how long it will last (ex. work 9am -6pm). Then I brainstorm about the things I need to get done in the week and add them to the agenda. Usually this does the trick, but I add things as I go throughout the week as well.

After all this planning, the best part is crossing out the finished tasks! It is surprisingly relieving to physically remove a task from your to-do list. School and life can very stressful, but putting everything down on paper seems to help clear your mind. I highly suggest trying out an agenda to see if it works for you. Dollar stores, Walmart, and Chapters are all great places to buy agendas. If you want to try your hand at making a personalized layout, I made mine on word and then bound the printed pages. It cost me roughly $10 to create my own.

Happy Planning!

Katie

Do you use an agenda? For fun, what is the weirdest thing you had to write down in it? The weirdest thing I had to write down in 2015 was to buy a pillow. 

Leave a Reply

