Getting Through Surgery

I can’t do this.

That was my first thought after I learned the the date I would be having surgery to have my wisdom teeth removed. Although I knew that the surgery was very common, I was scared. This surgery was my first surgery ever, so my mind went pretty crazy thinking of all the different reasons it was a bad idea and how many ways it could go wrong. If you are going to have surgery, don’t do that. It is a bad idea and doesn’t really help your situation. It is easier said than done, but try not to worry. You will be in really good hands and there are helpful ways that you can prepare for your surgery. 

  1. Do what the doctors tell you to do.

It can be tempting to ignore certain instructions, especially if you have to fast, but follow the instructions anyway. These instructions are laid out for a reason and to give you the best chance of having a good procedure. Often times when things go wrong, it is because the patient didn’t follow the instructions given by their doctor. Try to do your best with these and ask questions if you don’t understand!

2. Do some research about the procedure.

Use caution with this tip. If you will get scared more if you look it up or are squeamish, I don’t recommend this. However, if you are the type of person who likes to have as much information as possible, try this out. Research your procedure on a reputable source and learn about it from an academic or medical stand point. I was very nervous about anesthetic being used to put me out during the surgery so I learned the science behind it. Doing that extra research made me feel less nervous and more comfortable with what would be happening to me.

3. Prepare yourself.

Sometimes there things you can do beforehand to make surgery more easy for you. For example, if you will require a special diet afterwards, go purchase some things you want to eat that adhere to the diet. If you know you will need to sleep with your head elevated, prepare your pillows or bed to support the position you need to be in. When you are more prepared, it is likely that you will have a few less things to worry or be nervous about.

4. Get support.

There are many ways you can get support. Talk to friends, family members, or even pray to God about your concerns. They make be able to ease your fears or worries and comfort you. Additionally, it is a great thing to know that you are cared for, especially when you are not feeling your best.

I hope that these few tips help you if you are going to be having a surgery soon. I know I could have used some tips before my surgery as I was pretty freaked out. Sometimes in life we have to face hard things, but once they are over, we can come out with a clearer perspective on things and learn more about ourselves.

Until next time,

Katie

Leave a Reply

