Walking the Walk: Part 3

This is long overdue, but I feel like this an appropriate day to post this one considering the next thing I want to talk about here. I think its really important to go to church if you want to have a healthy spiritual life. There are a few ideas that are summed up in the act of going to church that are important for us to discuss. Firstly, it is so important to be feeding your spiritual life. Going to church is a great way to do this because you get to be taught new things about your faith, you can have community with believers of all ages, and it provides many opportunities to serve others. Secondly, it continues to build up the body of Christ. We all have unique talents that God has given us and these talents can be used to build each other up as well as each other’s faith. When we build others up, we can do amazing things with God’s help. As a team, we can use our unique abilities to start programs for unprivileged people, help relieve global catastrophes, and so much more. Thirdly, going to church is one of the many ways we can praise and worship God. Check out this Psalm: 

Praise the Lord!
Praise God in his sanctuary;
    praise him in his mighty heavens![a]
Praise him for his mighty deeds;
    praise him according to his excellent greatness!

Praise him with trumpet sound;
    praise him with lute and harp!
Praise him with tambourine and dance;
    praise him with strings and pipe!
Praise him with sounding cymbals;
    praise him with loud clashing cymbals!
Let everything that has breath praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord!

Among many other ways of worship, worshiping in the church is listed here first. God’s “Sanctuary” is the church. I know this can be a challenge and that it can be tempting to stay at home and just listen to a live church broadcast. However, this is not the same as going to a real church! You will miss out on so many of the great things church has to offer. There are problems in all churches, but once you find one you feel at least somewhat comfortable in, it is worthwhile to stay.

I really sucked at going to church. I found it really hard to go by myself and to commute there every week. Also, I’m a very introverted person. I really cherish having time to myself and church seemed to take away from that. However, I learned that if I managed my time more wisely I would be able to attend church and not feel like I never had any time to myself. Does this seem like you? If it is, I would encourage you to find a way to have time to yourself in the week so that you feel like you can face people every Sunday.

Another big issue for me was finding the right church. I’m not advocating “church hopping” here. I don’t think it is a good idea to jump around constantly and never put roots down. Everyone needs to feel like they belong and are apart of a family. However, my boyfriend’s dad gave us some good advice one day. “Church shopping” means that you look around at a few churches to see whether they fit with you well enough to commit to a “purchase”. Does the church fall in line with your beliefs, your music preferences, and have something that you can both help with and be enriched by. It may take some looking, but eventually a church that suits you will be found. The only guideline I would preface this with is that you can’t shop forever. No church is ever going to be perfect. We are all sinful people and we all make mistakes. Just try to see if you can see yourself growing in that church community and if you can contribute to the growth of others in the church.

I really want to encourage you to go to church and hope that this post was encouraging to you. It can be difficult, but having friends or family to help you go can really help the experience. If you don’t have people like that in your life right now, I promise that someone in a church somewhere will become that friend for you. The church you place roots in really grows to be like a family.

Happy church going!

Katie

Leave a Reply

