I’m back!

Its been a few days, but I wanted to let you know that I survived! I’m still not feeling my best and probably won’t be for another while. However, I wanted to post a quick something for you guys despite being hopped up on painkillers and looking like a chipmunk. I thought it might be fitting to talk about some well learned lessons that have come from my wisdom teeth extraction. It was an interesting experience, but it had some cool parts to it too.

  1. Don’t freak out too much.

I freaked out so much before hand I couldn’t eat or sleep properly for a week. This is not the best idea if it can be avoided. In the end, I wasn’t freaked out when I sat in the operating room, but I feel like I wasted a lot of time being freaked out.

2. Take photos of the teeth.

If you want to see the teeth, take a photo of them. My oral surgeon doesn’t allow patients to take their teeth home, but I wanted to see them. Thinking back, I don’t actually remember seeing them even though I know that I did. I’m very thankful I took photos of them. Perhaps I will show you guys if you want. The fun thing about having a picture is to see how big they were and what they looked like. I was surprised how big the teeth actually were.

3. Have stuff to eat.

I love food. Not being able to eat normally is driving me crazy, but I am glad that I put aside some foods ahead of time to eat. Instant breakfast shakes, pudding, ice cream and jello have been very helpful these past few days. Surprisingly cheese cake has been a great option too.

So there you have it, my top three take-away lessons from having my wisdom teeth removed. I’m sure there are plenty of other things I could take away from this experience, but I will let the healing continue and post on those later.

Until next time,

Katie

Leave a Reply

