New to Philosophy: Beginning Books

Hi Everyone!

So I’ve posted a few things here and there about philosophy on here, but I thought that a post like this one might be useful for those philosophically inclined readers. In the future, I plan on posting about some of the topics I have an interest in, but thought that not all of you have a formal education in philosophy. I really don’t believe that you need a formal education in anything to understand or be good at something. However, there are some basic things you need to know if you want to be able to understand the arguments people give for their beliefs. As a side note, I think it is important to say that the majority of my philosophy training is Analytic Philosophy. However, I do have some experience with Continental Philosophy.

I really recommend that someone who wants to be able to understand and debate arguments read The Power of Critical Thinking by Lewis Vaughn. Here is a link to the book! This book goes over the basics of analytical philosophy exempting symbolic logic (something that you don’t need to worry about if you don’t intend to debate with scholars). I love this book as it is easy to read and follow, it has pictures, and so many helpful aids. I still refer to it when I’m writing papers today!

Another book I would recommend is Modern Philosophy by Forrest E. Baird. I have only read volume three, but they are very good anthologies full of important essays from Modern Philosophers. Many of these entries are foundational essays that much of today’s philosophy is built upon.

There are tons of other great books on the subject, but these two are definitely worth while. I’ve also heard Philosophy for Dummies is also useful, but I have not actually checked that one out.

Happy Reading!

– Katie

Leave a Reply

